Lately I have been trying, with varying levels of success, to live by the adage "it is better to be kind than right." Most people who know me well know how much I love to be right, so this has been a struggle, but I believe it is a valuable one. Today someone was very unkind to me. This person was unnecessarily venomous and hurtful to me. I don't wish to rehash the minutiae of the situation, and yes I get that it's annoying when people say, "Hey, Internet, this thing happened but don't ask me about it," but I have a reason for sharing this.

If I have been unkind to you, deliberately or unintentionally, and haven't apologized, I would like to take this moment to sincerely ask your forgiveness. Being verbally attacked was horrible. Standing there and taking it without counter-attacking is something I doubt I could have done even a few years ago. I want to remember how this felt so I can put myself into the shoes of anyone I speak to from now on.

I'm sure I will falter. I'm sure I will lash out. But this experience has strengthened my resolve to be kind, even when my inclination is to be "right."


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.